Residents of North Carolina possess the 2nd Amendment right to carry a firearm. However, legal situations do exist that can restrict gun ownership, such as when they are allowed to have a gun or who can carry a firearm in the Tar Heel State.
North Carolina requires residents to obtain a permit for concealed carrying of a weapon, and some people are ineligible for that permit. There are also specific locations within North Carolina that it is prohibited to carry a gun at all.
What Are North Carolina’s Requirements For Carrying Concealed Guns?
To legally carry a concealed gun in North Carolina, residents must :
- Be a United States citizen or lawful permanent resident, who is at least 21 years of age and a North Carolina resident — for at least 30 days
- Completed an approved firearms safety and training course
- Have a valid concealed handgun permit
- Are on their own premises with the concealed gun
- They are law enforcement officers or other individuals authorized to carry weapons as part of their official duties.
These concealed-weapon laws also apply to other deadly weapons such as stun guns.
What Restrictions Does North Carolina Place On Gun ownership?
Despite the 2nd Amendment right to bear arms being an essential part of the Consitution, there are restrictions on whom and when you can own a gun in North Carolina.
North Carolina restricts people from carrying guns and will not grant a permit if they:
- have ever been indicted or convicted of a felony or violent misdemeanor, such as domestic violence
- are currently free on bond pending a trial, appeal, or sentencing for any crime that would disqualify them from obtaining a gun-carrying permit
- have been convicted of driving under the influence in the last three years
- can be proven to be illegally using or addicted to drugs and/or alcohol
- have been found by a court or government agency to be mentally ill or lacking in mental capacity.
Where Is It Illegal To Carry A Gun In North Carolina?
Even when a North Carolina resident legally possesses a permit to carry a gun, they may not be allowed to have the firearm with them, depending on where they are going.
North Carolina forbids residents from carrying a gun:
- on public or private school property, this includes K-12 schools, colleges, and universities, as well as at school-sponsored events
- in a law enforcement or correctional facilities, such as a prison or police station
- in a state or federal office buildings, such as courthouses
- at a parade, funeral procession, picket line, or other demonstration
- on any private property that prohibits concealed handguns, and
- anywhere guns are not permitted under federal law, such as National Forests, post offices, sterile airports, and military bases.