In North Carolina, domestic violence is taken very seriously by the legal system as it should be. If someone has accused you of domestic violence, you must take the matter equally seriously, especially if it’s a false accusation. A domestic violence charge can do serious harm to your reputation at best and result in a prison sentence at worst. Here’s what you need to know about domestic violence laws in North Carolina and the steps you should take after your arrest.
Attorney Allen Brotherton recently spoke with WSOC TV news about the aftermath of a $1 million local Ponzi scheme. After deep negotiations, the judge rejected the government’s request for a much harsher sentence and went below the guideline range to drop the penalty from 57 months in prison down to 37.