Charlotte-Mecklenburg DWI/DUI Attorneys
Also serving Lincoln County & the Lake Norman area from our Denver, NC office
Charged With DWI? Attorneys At The Knox Law Center Can Help
If you or a loved one were accused of drunk driving (known in NC as ‘driving while impaired’ or “DWI“), make no mistake; this is a very serious criminal charge with potentially harsh and long-lasting consequences. Our Charlotte DUI/DWI defense lawyers recognize this and will search for every possible legal angle to defend you.
It is important that you contact us right away. For instance, certain video evidence can be destroyed if not quickly subpoenaed. Also, while being charged with DWI results in a 30 day license revocation, we can usually get your privilege to drive reinstated after only 10 days.
30+ years working in the Mecklenburg County court system
It is also critical to have strong representation. In North Carolina, DWI is a misdemeanor offense punishable by jail time, substantial fines, community service and mandatory alcohol treatment. Every conviction results in suspension of your driver’s license, from a minimum of one year to permanent revocation. In addition to these punishments, conviction also leads to a huge increase in your auto insurance premiums.
While North Carolina laws have become increasingly tougher on DWI defendants in recent years, it is still possible to avoid a conviction. At the Knox Law Center, we win a significant percentage of our DWI cases. We provide a free initial consultation to learn about your case and give you a realistic evaluation of your options for building a defense.
Effective Defense Strategies When Charged With A DWI In Charlotte
DWI is not a simple area of the law. Which lawyer you choose will make a real difference in your outcome.
Our DWI defense lawyers use the Constitution as a shield against overreaching police conduct. If we can convince the court that your initial stop was not supported by legally sufficient reasonable and articulable suspicion, or that your arrest was not supported by probable cause, then all evidence collected after the illegal seizure must be suppressed, leading to a verdict of not guilty.
Field sobriety tests, roadside Alcosensor tests, and chemical analysis of breath or blood alcohol can also be avoided if they were improperly administered. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has stringent guidelines for standardized field sobriety tests that can be used to attack the police officer’s testimony. The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services has enacted regulations in the Administrative Code that govern testing for alcohol concentration. These regulations must have been strictly followed in order for the test results to be admissible in court against you.
Post-arrest procedures, such as the finding of probable cause by the magistrate and jail delays in release processing, can also be challenged. We have won cases for errors as simple as the lack of a notary seal and other technical mistakes. You need an experienced lawyer on your side who knows what to look for when investigating your case.
Multiple DWI Cases, DWIs With Grossly Aggravating Factors & Repeat Offenders
If you are charged with DWI plus and one of the following ‘statutory grossly aggravating factors’ applies then a potential conviction will carry a mandatory active jail sentence of at least 7 days and a possible sentence of up to 2 years:
- You have a prior DWI conviction within the previous 7 years
- You had a passenger under age 16
- You were driving while your license was revoked for an impaired driving revocation
- You had an accident causing serious injury
Our lawyers will take the time to thoroughly evaluate your case for possible defenses and mitigating factors. We understand the seriousness of this charge and will do whatever is necessary to achieve the best possible outcome. Call Knox Law Center today for deeply experienced Mecklenburg County DWI lawyers.
DWI Articles & Resources
Most of us know that drinking alcohol or taking illegal drugs can impair our ability to drive and massively heighten the risk of a car crash. In North Carolina, not only are drivers who take certain prescription drugs at a higher risk of a car crash, but they’re also at risk of a DWI charge. Read more…
Request A DWI/DUI Consultation Today
Bold labels are required.